News > Concerts + Events
Back to News Browse
Concerts + Events

Winners of 2016 Woolsey Concerto Competition Announced

The Yale Philharmonia performing in Woolsey Hall

The 2016 Woolsey Concerto Competition took place last Saturday, April 9. The three winners, in alphabetical order, are: Yang Liu, piano Prokofiev Piano Concerto No. 2 in G minor, Op. 16; Joanna Wu, flute Nielsen Concerto for Flute; and Jinxiang Yu, soprano Messiaen Poèmes pour Mi

As winners, these Yale School of Music students will perform with the Yale Philharmonia during the 2016-17 season. The judges noted that they were very impressed with the high level of performance of all participants. Dae Hee Ahn, violin was selected as an alternate, and honorable mentions were given to Lydia Consilvio, oboe; Nola Richardson, soprano; Diomedes Saraza Jr., violin; An Tran, guitar; and Yen-Chen Wu, bassoon.

The judges were Linda Chesis (head of winds, Manhattan School of Music), Max Levinson (chair of the piano department, Boston Conservatory), and Christian Teal (professor of violin emeritus, Vanderbilt University).