News > Students, Faculty + Alumni
Back to News Browse
Students, Faculty + Alumni

Yale composers receive awards from the American Academy of Arts and Letters

Arts & Letters blog post 2023

Clockwise from top left: Andy Akiho, photo by Da Ping Luo; Luke Haaksma; Robert Honstein; Peter Shin; David Ludwig, photo by Ryan Collerd; and Harriet Steinke, photo by Muriel Steinke.

Four Yale alums received awards from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. David Ludwig ’12BA received a $10,000 Arts and Letters Award in Music and will receive another $10,000 with which to make a recording and present a program of original music at the Academy in New York City. Robert Honstein ’04BA ’10MMA ’14DMA received a $10,000 Andrew Imbrie Award in Music. Peter Shin ’20MMA received a Charles Ives Award in Music. And Andy Akiho ’11MM received a $15,000 Goddard Lieberson Fellowship in Music.

Two current YSM students, Luke Haaksma ’24MM and Harriet Steinke ’22MM ’23MMA, received Charles Ives Scholarships.

Awardees were chosen by Academy members Annea Lockwood, David Sanford, Chinary Ung, Melinda Wagner, and YSM alums Christopher Theofanidis ’94MMA ’97DMA, Augusta Read Thomas ’88, and Julia Wolfe ’86MM.

Read more about the awards and awardees here.